Unjustly Obscure Albums – Vol. 6

Jack Peñate, Everything Is New

Shape-shifting London-based pop auteur Jack Peñate decided to try out a slew of genres for 2009’s aptly titled Everything Is New, an effervescent nine-track rendering of Afro-beat, dance-pop, tropicalia, and blue-eyed soul that flirts with greatness enough to warrant subsequent spins. Peñate’s enthusiasm for not only his source material, but for the empty canvas of 21st century commercial music itself, feels genuine enough, resulting in an infectious club- and radio-ready collection of cosmopolitan pop that feels both familiar and expansive.
-All Music Guide

Jack Peñate – Everything Is New
Jack Peñate – Tonight’s Today

One Reply to “Unjustly Obscure Albums – Vol. 6”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.